Treasure Hunt

Posted on Updated on


Download a treasure hunt sheet here

How do you get a two-year-old, who is perfectly capable of walking, to go where you want at a speed that isn’t so painfully slow you want to cry, without demanding to be carried after about 2 minutes?

If you already have this cracked then I worship you!  For me, a walk to the shops, the library or even the park, can have me breathing deeply and counting to ten rather too often. I regularly resort to the buggy for journeys, despite knowing that she can walk the few 100 yards, just so that I don’t have to a) chase her the wrong way down the street, b) drag her along like a sullen teenager or c) carry her!

The other day I hit upon an idea, however, and it was so simple…we did a treasure hunt.  I printed off an A4 sheet with her name at the top (that alone was exciting for the munchkin!) and six pictures of things to find: a brown leaf, a green leaf, a stick etc.  We headed out with said list, a bag to collect things in an a smiling, excited daughter.  She walked all the way to the park, gleefully searching for stones and grass.  She didn’t say she wanted to be carried.  She uncomplainingly held my hand across the roads and she went the right way at a reasonable speed.  Result!  She even came back in the same way looking for the last thing.

One word of warning though…I printed a red flower.  Red flowers are not often found wild at this time of year. Darling daughter would not pick a different coloured flower, despite my protestations that I had only meant a flower, and the red was just for illustrative purposes, so if you want your child to be able to achieve the treasure hunt (without climbing over people’s garden walls…) consider the colour of flower!

R

Download a treasure hunt sheet here

 

Click link above to download
8 thoughts on “Treasure Hunt

    Nikki Thomas said:
    September 28, 2011 at 8:18 pm

    What a fantastic idea! With little ones it’s often the simple ideas that are the best. I am definitely going to do this with my little girl.

    Angeline said:
    September 28, 2011 at 9:37 pm

    Really Good idea. My daughter usually gets tired really easily and I love walking. Must try this out tomorrow as we have a dog who requires a lot of walking and I love going in the field but my daughter insists on being carried half way in to the walk which is a shame. Nice read!

    Chatty Baby said:
    September 29, 2011 at 8:39 am

    Brilliant! I’d love that sort of challenge to make the chores more entertaining!

    caughtwriting said:
    September 29, 2011 at 9:49 am

    Lovely idea, one I wish I’d had available at the time! Love the thing about the red flower, that’s so funny. We used to look for cats, as in “I’m sure there’s a cat just around the corner” and “I just saw one go round that house, let’s go and look.” He soon cottoned on to that though!

    Emma said:
    September 29, 2011 at 4:39 pm

    Lovely idea.
    I did something similar with the 7 year old in the summer. Wrote rhyming clues for her to follow around London. Only way I could get her out of the house!

    Tresure Hunt #2 « More Than A Mum Blog said:
    November 15, 2011 at 7:44 pm

    […] hope that one or two of you had a go at the treasure hunt over the last couple of days. I don’t know about where you are, but we have had glorious sunshine […]

Leave a Reply

