Daylight Saving Time: Torture for parents!

Posted on


I am too tired to write a deep and meaningful blog post this morning and I’ll tell you why:  Whose stupid idea was it to change the clocks twice a year?  Obviously they were not thinking of the impact on Mother’s across the nation whose little darlings get up at 5.30am like mine does!  What on earth were they thinking and just who does this benefit?

Well apparently it’s all to do with saving the hours of daylight, and was started by a chap called William Willett, a London builder, who lived in Petts Wood in Kent.

Basically, he reckoned that you could improve the population’s health and happiness by putting forward the clocks by twenty minutes every Sunday in April and do the opposite in September (quite obviously not a parent!). His idea was not taken up, even though a ‘Daylight Saving Bill’ was introduced some five years before the outbreak of World War One. But once the war started, it was considered prudent to economise, to promote greater efficiency in using daylight hours, and in the use of artificial lighting. And so in 1916, ‘Daylight Saving Time’ was introduced.

Hello?  This was therefore about three reasons: improving health and happiness and economising due to the war.  Not a very extensive study admittedly, but I’m yet to meet a person let alone a parent whose happiness, health or utility bill has been helped by this out-dated notion.

Let me tell you the affect it has on me:  BearCub has never needed much sleep.  He sleeps through the night pretty much without fail (apart from when he’s ill) but he has always been an early riser.  I have done everything to try to change this including pain-stakingly moving his bed time 10 mins a time to an hour later.  As is the pattern I will finally get him into a routine of sleeping until a grand 6.30am when the clocks will change and we’re back to 5.30am wake ups!  I can handle anything past 6am but just that half hour earlier tips me over the edge.  I’m particularly dreading this weekend’s change as BearCub has taken to waking at 5.30am for the last week which means I’m in for a 4.30am little alarm clock on Sunday morning – joy!  It will take me a good few months to get this back to anywhere near 6am and then the clocks will go forward and bedtime will be mucked up with a knock on effect on wake ups!!!  Bloody daylight saving!!

L

 

10 thoughts on “Daylight Saving Time: Torture for parents!

    Mum2babyinsomniac said:
    October 28, 2011 at 11:38 am

    I am so with you on this one. Clearly no-one has thought about the effect it has on mothers. My little one is the same, she goes through the night but has only just started going until 6am although sometimes it’s 5.30am. I cannot handle 4.30am so will go mad if she starts to wake then! Stupid idea! x

      morethanamummy responded:
      October 28, 2011 at 6:24 pm

      Ok let’s tweet eachother Sunday and see who got off best/worst 😦

    amumsim said:
    October 28, 2011 at 2:03 pm

    Totally agree with you, I’m preparing for the agony too! It brings a tear to my eyes when people describe it as “an extra hour in bed”

    Sarah said:
    October 28, 2011 at 2:28 pm

    They do grow up in the end, you know. It won’t last, this sleepless hell. Then you’ll look back at the time when you cared about the change of summer time to winter and back thank the gods those days are gone. If you’re anything like me anyway.

    Hang on in there.

      morethanamummy responded:
      October 28, 2011 at 6:18 pm

      Thank you. This genuinely gives me hope as at the moment I feel like I’m never going to be NOT tired again! :-/

    Nikki Thomas said:
    October 28, 2011 at 6:48 pm

    My husband and I have been arguing about who is getting up with our youngest on Sunday currently she is waking up at 5!!! Hope it’s not me!

      morethanamummy responded:
      October 28, 2011 at 10:09 pm

      Oh Nikki – how will you decide? Flip a coin? You could offer sexual favours!! Do anything to seal the deal!

    Pinkoddy said:
    October 30, 2011 at 8:49 pm

    it’s annoying. They are thinking of changing it again http://pinkoddy.wordpress.com/2011/10/29/the-clocks-changing/

    Curly Mum said:
    October 31, 2011 at 5:31 pm

    Goodness I’ve just had a terrible time over the weekend due to daylight saving. Doesn’t help that my youngest two are full of cold right now, but I now I have to wiggle their bedtimes round again.

Leave a Reply

